Financial Literacy

From CNBC - includes spreadsheets, desktop software and smartphone apps.

This free site from the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants helps you understand personal finances through various stages of life.

From the National Endowment for Financial Education, this site discusses the most common problems students encounter during college.

Includes content provided by CNN and the magazines Fortune & Money. Has areas devoted to personal finance, investing, the economy, business news, and other topics.

The federal government provides a variety of tools to assist with budgeting, building your credit score, etc.

Investopia's Personal Finance Center includes sections on budgeting, credit cards, taxes, and other relevant topics. The website's dictionary is a good place to get quick definition of investing-related words & phrases.

Companion website for Kiplinger's Personal Finance magazine.

A tool to help you navigate major financial decisions at various life stages.

A free online budgeting tool from Intuit [makers of TurboTax] that provides tools for people to meet their financial goals [savings, checking, investment, mortgage and automobile loans, etc.].

Includes news and information on money management, credit cards, jobs & careers, the overall economy, and other basic aspects of personal finance.

This site from the U.S. Government "is dedicated to teaching all Americans the basics about financial education." It is organized using five building blocks for managing money: Earn, Borrow, Save & Invest, Spend, and Protect. There are also a range of tools such as calculators and interactive worksheets.

Provides comparison tools that help you select which credit card is best for you. Also provides news & information on personal finance, investments, banking, and insurance.

The site's approach to financial topics is reflected in its subtitle: "Living Large on a Small Budget."

One of the most popular web sites for financial news and information of all types. Includes a personal finance area.