Pierce Library: OER/ZTC: Anthropology & Geographical Sciences

OER/ZTC resources by class

EXPLORATIONS: An Open Invitation to Biological Anthropology
Anthropology 101

The first comprehensive, peer-reviewed open access textbook for biological anthropology courses
"Explorations Lab and Activities Manual "
The Explorations Biological Anthropology Lab Manual includes 1-4 labs/activities for each of the sixteen chapters and three appendices in Explorations.
The Physical Environment (Ritter)
Geography 1 and 17 Textbook

Physical Anthropology

EXPLORATIONS: An Open Invitation to Biological Anthropology
Anthropology 101

The first comprehensive, peer-reviewed open access textbook for biological anthropology courses
"Explorations Lab and Activities Manual "
The Explorations Biological Anthropology Lab Manual includes 1-4 labs/activities for each of the sixteen chapters and three appendices in Explorations.
Introduction to Physical Anthropology
This class is an introduction to physical anthropology, but for many it will be your first anthropology class, or perhaps your first science class in college, so it is worthwhile to back up and introduce both science and anthropology.
Biological Anthropology - Laboratory Activities (Taub)
Students will need an assigned text to assist with these activities, identify bone and features, understand the proper use of Hardy-Weinberg Equilibrium, significance of primate taxonomy, and specific information about various early human forms.

Forensic Anthropology by Natalie R. Langley (Editor); MariaTeresa A. Tersigni-Tarrant (Editor)
ISBN: 9781315300023
Publication Date: 2017-02-24
Forensic Anthropology: A Comprehensive Introduction Second Edition builds off of the success of the first edition and incorporates standard practices in addition to cutting-edge approaches in a user-friendly format, making it an ideal introductory-level text.

Cultural Anthropology

Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural Anthropology
Produced by the Society for Anthropology in Community Colleges
Linguistics
This Open Educational Resource (OER) brings together Open Access content from around the web and enhances it with dynamic video lectures about the core areas of theoretical linguistics (phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics), supplemented with discussion of psycholinguistic and neurolinguistic findings. There is a Canadian English lean in material.
Cultural Anthropology (Saneda)
Introduction to cultural anthropology created by community college instructors.
Introduction to Anthropology (Openstax)
The text showcases the historical context of the discipline, with a strong focus on anthropology as a living and evolving field.

Archaeology

"Digging into Archaeology: A Brief OER Introduction to Archaeology with Activities (Paskey and Cisneros) "
This book is intended for use in a variety of introductory archaeology settings, such as in lectures and lab courses
Digging into Archaeology: Workbook
Introduction to Archaeology: A Workbook, is designed to assist students in the Intro to Archaeology course by giving them questions and assignments to reinforce what is learned in the classroom lectures.

Witchcraft

Beliefs: An Open Invitation to the Anthropology of Magic, Witchcraft, and Religion
Includes Soundcloud recordings of each chapter, links to primary sources and articles, and eleven chapters covering topics typically included in an introductory course on anthropology of magic, witchcraft, and religion, including: theoretical approaches, witchcraft, ritual, myth, comparative religion, syncretism, altered states of consciousness, and religious specialists.

Geography

The Physical Environment (Ritter)
Geography 1 and 17
Physical Geology (Huth)
OER Physical Geography Textbook (2021)
World Regional Geography (Finlayson)
This text approaches geography as experts understand the discipline, focusing on connections and an in-depth understanding of core themes
Introduction to Human Geography (Dorrell and Henderson)
Geography is a diverse discipline that has some sort of connection to most every other academic discipline. This connection is the spatial perspective, which essentially means if a phenomenon can be mapped, it has some kind of relationship to geography. Studying the entire world is a fascinating subject, and geographical knowledge is fundamental to a competent understanding of our world.
Essentials of Geographic Information Systems (Campbell and Shin)
This text integrates key concepts behind the technology with practical concerns and real-world applications. Recognizing that many potential GIS users are nonspecialists or may only need a few maps, this book is designed to be accessible, pragmatic, and concise. The text also illustrates how GIS is used to ask questions, inform choices, and guide policy. From the melting of the polar ice caps to privacy issues associated with mapping, this book provides a gentle, yet substantive, introduction to the use and application of digital maps, mapping, and GIS.
Practical Meteorology (Stull)
This book is an algebra-based survey of atmospheric science. This book is designed for students and professionals who want to understand and apply basic meteorological concepts, but who do not need to derive equations.

Core Open Education Resources

LibreTexts Anthropology
The main purpose of anthropology is to understand human biological and cultural diversity, and the origins of humans. So, the humans that anthropologists study can be modern or ancient, and can span across the globe. Anthropologists are unique in that they study the entirety of human existence over time and space.
Open Educational Resources and Anthropology- ASCCC OERI
The curated collection of OER provided below was developed by the ASCCC OERI

Recommended Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Nearly 14,000 indexed titles, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,500 in full-text.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject database which contains indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals, with full text for more than 9,000 of those titles.
Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource is the database of the American Anthropological Association (AAA). It offers full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Large collection of online books appropriate for college level research
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Large collection of online books appropriate for college level research
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archives of over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journals and books covering the fields of sociology, anthropology, and other closely related fields.