English

EBSCO eBooks

For this project, you need to find a scholarly book that meets three key criteria:

1. The author must be a recognized expert in their field.
2. The book must present a clear central argument (thesis) that the author develops throughout the text.
3. The author must support their arguments with explicit and extensive in-text citations, pointing directly to specific pages or locations within their sources using a standard academic documentation style.

To find authoritative authors and their works within the EBSCO eBooks platform, begin by utilizing the platform's search and filtering tools. Refine your search results by author name or subject area, and examine the detailed record information for each title, including summaries, abstracts, and author biographies. Explore the table of contents and chapter summaries to understand the book's scope and content. 

Elaboration:

1. 1. Search and Filtering:

   • Begin by entering your search terms in the search box. 
   • Refine your results using filters, such as source type (eBooks), subject facets, and limiters. 
   • Consider using author name searches or subject terms to target specific areas of interest. 
     • for example, I searched: mass incarceration AND authoritative

2. 2. Detailed Record Information:

   • Click on the ebook title or cover image to view detailed information. 
   • Review the abstract or summary for a brief overview of the book's content. 
   • Examine the author information, including biographies or links to their other publications, to assess their expertise. 

3. 3. Table of Contents and Chapter Summaries:

   • Use the table of contents to navigate through the book's structure and identify key chapters or sections. 
   • Read the chapter summaries or introductions to gain a better understanding of each chapter's focus and content. 

Watch this 1-minute video for guidance on how to do a basic search. The steps above are for the advance authoritative search.

Ebook Central

This writing project will ask you to use our college digital eBook Central database collections to accomplish the following: 

1. Find a non-fiction academically serious, scholarly book (published after the year 2000) on a topic that interests you using the Los Angeles Pierce College Library books for physical print books and library home page: ebooks (ProQuest E-book or Ebsco eBook collections) for digital ebooks. 

2. An academically serious book for this project needs to be (1) written by an author recognized by his or her peers as an expert in this topic, (2) whose author argues a specific thesis (central point) throughout the book, (3) whose author supports his or her points throughout the book with explicit and extensive in-text citations and documentation using an academic documentation style. In-text citations must point directly to specific pages or locations in specific sources. 

Learn to navigate Ebook Central in this 2-minute video:

Keyword Search

When you need to find information for your topic, OneSearch is your go-to tool. It's designed to search through most of our "eBook databases" and our catalog all at once, making it easier to find facts and data. Remember to put quotation marks around multi-word concepts like "Native American" to get the best results.

Your professor has provided three examples of books that include ALL the required features for this writing project:

EXAMPLE #1: 

• As an example entry of an APPROVED book, please read your professor's sample database entry using Darius Rejali's book Torture and Democracy as an example (click the link). After the page reloads, scroll to the bottom of the page to read my example database entry.  

  • Rejali, Darius. Torture and Democracy, Princeton University Press, 2007. ProQuest Ebook Central, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/piercecollege/detail.action?docID=457889

    • Keywords: Iraq; torture; Germany; "sensory deprivation"

EXAMPLE #2: 

• As an example entry of an APPROVED book, please read our professor's sample database entry using Brendan C. Lindsay's book Murder State : California's Native American Genocide, 1846-1873 as an example (click the link). After the page reloads, scroll to the bottom of the page to read my example database entry  

  • Lindsay, Brendan C.. Murder State : California's Native American Genocide, 1846-1873, University of Nebraska Press, 2012. ProQuest Ebook Central, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/piercecollege/detail.action?docID=915522.

    • Keywords  - Murder; California; "Indian Wars"; "Native American history"

EXAMPLE #3: 

• As an example entry of an APPROVED book, please read my sample database entry using Benjamin Madley's book An American Genocide : The United States and the California Indian Catastrophe, 1846-1873 as an example (click the link). After the page reloads, scroll to the bottom of the page to read my example database entry  

  • Madley, Benjamin. An American Genocide : The United States and the California Indian Catastrophe, 1846-1873, Yale University Press, 2016. ProQuest Ebook Central, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/piercecollege/detail.action?docID=4518754.

    • Keywords - resettlement; history; "Western history"; "Native American History"

Watch this 1-minute video on how to use OneSearch box below to find a book:

Find books, articles, and more.

Advanced Search | AI Assistant