English

Paper #3

This guide will help you navigate library databases to find the best sources for your 5-7 page persuasive essay. Remember, your goal is to persuade your audience to take a stand on a specific issue, while presenting both sides of the argument fairly and respectfully.

Understanding Your Assignment's Research Needs

Your essay requires you to:

• Consult at least 3-4 scholarly sources: These must be books and articles accessed through library databases. No websites!

• Present BOTH sides of the issue: A strong persuasive argument acknowledges and addresses counterarguments.

• Avoid "Hot-Button" and "Banned" topics: This is crucial! Focus on less common, but still impactful, issues.

• Use MLA format: This includes in-text citations and a Works Cited page. 

Thinking Outside the Obvious 🧠

The prompt specifically asks you to get creative and select a topic beyond the usual. It should avoid a list of "hot-button" and "banned" topics. This means you'll need to explore issues that are current, have clear opposing viewpoints, but aren't so polarizing that minds are already made up.

Here are some ideas to get you started, focusing on the prompt's examples of "human rights" and "stopping excessive land development in your community":

• Human Rights: Consider specific, less-discussed aspects. Instead of general "human rights," think about specific rights in certain contexts.

  • Example: The right to privacy in the digital age, access to clean water in developing nations, or the right to education for marginalized communities.

• Stopping Excessive Land Development: This topic is local and impactful.

  • Example: The environmental impact of urban sprawl, the preservation of historical landmarks in your community, or the economic benefits vs. ecological costs of a new commercial development.

Note: As you brainstorm, consider issues that you personally care about or have some existing knowledge of. This will make the research process more engaging!

Accessing the Databases 📚

Your library offers powerful databases that are specifically designed for academic research. For this assignment, Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) and Issues & Controversies (Infobase) are excellent starting points because they specialize in providing balanced information on current, debated topics.

How to Access the Databases

1. Go to the library's homepage.
2. Look for a "Databases," "Research Guides," or "A-Z List of Databases" link.
3. Locate "Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)" and "Issues & Controversies (Infobase)" and click to access them. You may need to log in with your student ID and password.

Using Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)

This database is a fantastic resource for understanding different sides of an issue.

Key Features for Your Assignment:

• Viewpoints/Essays: These are often the core of the database, providing pro/con arguments.
• Overviews: Great for getting a general understanding of a topic.
• News and Periodical Articles: Provides current perspectives.
• Academic Journals: Crucial for scholarly sources.
• Statistics: Useful for supporting your arguments with data.

How to Search & Find Relevant Information

1. Browse Issues: If you're still exploring topics, click on "Browse Issues" to see a list of hundreds of pre-curated topics. This can spark ideas and ensure the topic has enough information for your paper.
2. Keyword Search: If you have a topic in mind, use the search bar.
   • Example Topic: The Right to Digital Privacy
     • Start with broad terms: digital privacy, online privacy, data privacy
     • Narrow it down: digital privacy AND government surveillance, online privacy AND social media, data security AND human rights
     • Consider alternative phrasing: internet surveillance, personal data protection
   • Example Topic: Urban Sprawl in California
     • Start with broad terms: urban sprawl, land development, suburban growth
     • Narrow it down: urban sprawl AND environmental impact, land development AND local communities, sustainable development AND zoning laws
     • Consider alternative phrasing: habitat destruction California, green space preservation
3. Refine Your Results: Once you search, look for options to filter your results by:
   • Content Type: Select "Academic Journals" or "Viewpoints" to prioritize scholarly sources and arguments.
   • Publication Date: Ensure you have current information.
   • Subject: Use the subject filters to narrow down to specific aspects of your topic.

Using Issues & Controversies (Infobase)

Similar to Opposing Viewpoints, Issues & Controversies provides balanced, in-depth coverage of contemporary issues.

Key Features for Your Assignment:

• In-depth Pro/Con Articles: These are specifically designed to present both sides of an issue clearly and without bias.
• Key Facts, Arguments, History, and Current Context: Provides comprehensive background.
• Timelines: Can help you understand the evolution of an issue.
• Primary Sources and Speeches: Offers direct access to original documents and arguments.
• Editorials and Columns: Presents a range of opinions from major newspapers.

How to Search & Find Relevant Information

1. Browse Topics: Similar to Opposing Viewpoints, you can browse a list of "Featured Controversies" or an A-Z list of topics if you're still looking for ideas.
2. Keyword Search: Use the search bar for specific topics.
   • Example Topic: Access to Clean Water for Indigenous Communities
     • Start with broad terms: clean water access, water rights, indigenous communities
     • Combine terms: water quality AND indigenous rights, environmental justice AND clean water
     • Consider specific locations if relevant: water access AND Navajo Nation
   • Example Topic: Preservation of Historic Buildings in Your City
     • Start with broad terms: historic preservation, urban renewal, heritage conservation
     • Combine terms: historic buildings AND gentrification, historic preservation AND community development
     • Add your local area: historic preservation AND [Your City Name], urban development AND [Your County Name]
3. Utilize "By the Numbers" and Related Resources: Look for sections that offer statistics, timelines, and links to additional materials.

Crafting Effective Keywords for Better Results 🎯

Keywords are the words or phrases you type into a database search box. Using the right keywords will help you find the most relevant information.

Tips for Developing Keywords:

• Identify Core Concepts: Break down your topic into its main ideas.

• Use Synonyms: Think of different words that mean the same thing.

• Consider Broader and Narrower Terms: Start broad, then get more specific.

• Use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT):

  • AND narrows your search (e.g., human rights AND technology will find articles discussing both).

  • OR broadens your search (e.g., urban sprawl OR suburbanization will find articles using either term).

  • NOT excludes terms (e.g., land development NOT agriculture will exclude articles about farming).

• Use Quotation Marks for Exact Phrases: "digital privacy" will search for that exact phrase, rather than "digital" and "privacy" separately.

• Use Asterisks (*) for Truncation: This finds different word endings (e.g., develop* will find "develop," "development," "developing," etc.).